Last Updated: August 23rd, 2022 at 1:13 pm
Read Time: 6 Minutes
When it comes to a third-degree felony, Florida law states that there is no official minimum sentencing requirement, which comes as a surprise to many. Depending on the crime, the court may offer different sentences, and discretion is generally up to the judge. Many factors can impact the severity of a sentence, including past criminal history, whether you are currently on probation or parole, whether any other individuals were hurt as a result of the crime, and so much more.
If you or a loved one received charges for a third-degree felony, Florida law can be quite harsh. However, there is legal help available to you. Whether this is your first offense or you are a repeat offender, the team at Weinstein Legal is here to help. We provide free and confidential case evaluations by phone to discuss the specific facts surrounding your arrest and to review the potential outcomes of your case.
Each day that passes is another day that the prosecutor’s office is working to secure a conviction against you, at which point sentencing will be up to the judge presiding over your case. You deserve the same aggressive legal defense working diligently on your behalf to prove your innocence. Contact Weinstein Legal today and ask to speak with Matt Shafran, the dedicated felony defense lawyer.
Mr. Shafran has years of experience working in the local Florida court systems and will stop at nothing to see a positive outcome for your case. He is currently a partner at Weinstein Legal and serves as head of the criminal defense division for the firm. Call today and ask to speak with Mr. Shafran: (954)845-0505. Our phones are open 24-hours a day, each day of the year, including holidays.
What Is the Minimum Sentence for a 3rd Degree Felony in Florida?
The state of Florida does not mandate minimum sentences for most third-degree felony charges. Sometimes, there are certain mandatory minimum sentences that must be imposed if you are convicted. However, the state does outline a possible maximum sentence. This maximum sentence includes:
- Up to five years in state prison and/or up-to five years of probation
- Court fines of up to $5,000
Additionally, depending on the alleged crime, there may be other penalties as well. These potential penalties include things such as a mandate to pay restitution to the victim for either injury or property damage, a mandate to undergo counseling or substance abuse treatment, a revocation of your driver’s license, forfeiture of firearms and weapons, a temporary loss of voting rights in political elections, a restraining order between you and the victim, and more.
Furthermore, a felony conviction of any kind will remain on your criminal record indefinitely even once you serve your court-ordered sentence. This can have far-reaching impacts on your life for many years to come, and many individuals find these effects more challenging to deal with than the original sentence.
First, many employers have policies in place that prohibit them from hiring felons. Jobs such as those in education, healthcare, government, and law enforcement, and more may become impossible to obtain, as will those that involve working with vulnerable populations (children, the sick or disabled, and the elderly). This often severely limits employment prospects for convicted felons.
Additionally, many landlords and Homeowner Associations (HOAs) refuse to rent to or approve purchase and residency applications for convicted felons. This means that it can also become quite difficult to find a place to live, which can affect the rest of your family as well.
For these reasons and more, it’s crucial that you contact a felony defense lawyer such as Matt Shafran at Weinstein Legal as soon as possible if you face a third-degree felony. Florida penalties can be quite steep, but there is help available to you, and it may be possible to have your charges reduced or entirely dismissed, enabling you to avoid the most serious of consequences. But you must act quickly to begin building your case.
What Crimes Result in a Third Degree Felony Charge?
There are many different crimes that can result in a third-degree felony in Florida. Additionally, certain misdemeanor charges may be upgraded to a third-degree felony offense under specific circumstances. For example, repeat DUI charges, repeat battery charges, and some crimes that take place during a state of emergency or on state property can all turn into third-degree felonies when they would otherwise remain as misdemeanors.
Common third-degree felonies in Florida include:
- Most drug crimes, including possession charges and cultivation of cannabis
- Grand theft
- Aggravated assault or felony battery
- Carrying a concealed firearm without a license
- Resisting arrest with violence or battery on a law enforcement officer
- Leaving the scene of an accident resulting in injury
- DUI with serious bodily injury or a third DUI arrest within ten years
- Aggravated stalking
- Child abuse or neglect
- Driving with a suspended license
- Exploitation of an elderly or disabled person
- And more
This list is not comprehensive, and there are many other crimes that can be charged as a third-degree felony in the state of Florida. If you do not see your alleged crime on this list and are facing a third-degree felony charge, contact Weinstein Legal today to discuss your unique case.
How Do You Fight Your Third Degree Felony Charge?
The first and most important thing to do following an arrest for a third-degree felony in Florida is to seek legal representation. Find a criminal defense attorney who is local to the area, familiar with the court system, and well-established within the community. Additionally, seek out a law firm that has an experienced and comprehensive team of professionals at your disposal, such as private investigators and those who can provide expert testimony in court. If you’re in Florida, criminal defense attorney Matt Shafran at Weinstein Legal is that lawyer.
It may be possible to have your charges reduced or dismissed entirely, even if you are a repeat offender. There are options available to you, but you must have a defense attorney working diligently on your case for the best possible outcome. It may also be possible to enter a pre-trial intervention program, which allows you to fulfill criteria outlined by the courts and, upon completion, to have the third-degree felony erased from your record.
Get Your Free Case Evaluation Today
If you or a loved one are facing a third-degree felony in Florida, don’t wait. Contact Weinstein Legal today and ask to speak with criminal defense attorney Matt Shafran. We will provide you with an entirely free and confidential case evaluation to review the unique facts surrounding your arrest.
While there is no minimum penalty or sentence for a third-degree felony in Florida and sentencing is at the discretion of the judge, the consequences for a conviction can be quite severe. However, there is hope. Contact Matt Shafran at Weinstein Legal today to review what defense options may be available to you and to see if it may be possible to get your charges reduced or dismissed.
Call (954)845-0505 any time, day or night, to receive a free and confidential legal consultation.