fbpx
Weinstein Legal personal injury law firm Fort Lauderdale

South Florida DUI Driver License Suspensions Lawyer

Revoked License for DUI

Officer arresting a man for DUI in Floria

Are you facing a driver’s license suspension related to a DUI arrest?

Florida has a unique law that suspends your driver’s license immediately after your DUI arrest for 10 days.

During that time, you can only drive for work or business-related reasons. There are a few possible outcomes after this 10-day period. Your license will either be reinstated or suspended with or without work privileges. What happens will depend on the decisions you make.

If you do not take any action, your driver’s license will be suspended for six months or more, depending on your criminal history and the circumstances of your arrest. It could be 12 or 18 months if you refused to provide a sample of your breath, blood, and/or urine.

Given this unique aspect of Florida law, it is crucial that you get in touch with a DUI attorney immediately. Experienced South Florida DUI attorney Matt Shafran, an experienced former prosecutor, will aggressively fight for your rights and the reinstatement of your driver’s license. He will work tirelessly for the best possible outcome for your case. When your driving privileges are at stake, you need legal representation immediately. Call Fort Lauderdale & West Palm Beach Florida drunk driving defense attorney, Matt Shafran, at 888-626-1108 right away.

“…After our consultation I knew things would be handled smoothly, I am extremely happy with the results. Would recommend Mr. Shafran for your needs….” – anonymous

Areas In Florida We Represent

Have your driving privileges been revoked due to a DUI? Seek the legal assistance of a criminal defense attorney immediately. Our revoked license attorneys represent individuals in Broward County, Miami-Dade County, and Palm Beach County including the following areas:

  • Boca Raton
  • Boynton Beach
  • Coral Springs
  • Delray Beach
  • Fort Lauderdale
  • Greenacres
  • Hollywood
  • Jupiter
  • Lake Worth
  • Palm Beach Gardens
  • Parkland
  • Pembroke Pines
  • Plantation
  • Pompano Beach
  • Tequesta
  • Wellington
  • West Palm Beach

HIRE A SUSPENDED LICENSE DUI ATTORNEY TODAY

What Action Can I Take During the 10-Day Window to Retain My Driving Privileges?

If it is your first DUI, you have two options during this window.

Request an Administrative Hearing

You can request a hearing to decide whether there was probable cause for your DUI arrest. If your court determines there was no probable cause, your driver’s license could be reinstated.

After your arrest, you are given a “hardship” license, which allows you to drive for 42 days but only for business purposes. Losing your hearing may result in you having to wait 30 or even 90 days to get another hardship license.

Forfeit Your Right to a Hearing

If you forfeit your right to a hearing, you could obtain hardship license immediately quickly, which lasts for the duration of your administrative suspension related to a first-time DUI. One caveat of this license is that you are required to enroll in DUI school before receiving it.

What If This Is Not My First DUI?

You can still request an administrative hearing to determine whether there was probable cause for your arrest. However, a hardship license is not an option if you have previous DUIs.

What Other Factors Determine Whether Your Driver’s License Is Suspended?

Violating Florida’s Implied Consent Law

Refusing a sobriety test can mean an automatic suspension of your license. Florida’s Implied Consent Law, detailed in Statute 316.1932, states:

“Any person who accepts the privilege extended by the laws of this state of operating a motor vehicle within this state is, by so operating such vehicle, deemed to have given his or her consent to submit to an approved chemical test or physical test including, but not limited to, an infrared light test of his or her breath for the purpose of determining the alcoholic content of his or her blood or breath if the person is lawfully arrested for any offense allegedly committed while the person was driving or was in actual physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcoholic beverages.”

In other words, by accepting the privilege of a driver’s license in Florida, you agreed that you would comply with lawful requests to test your blood or breath to register the alcohol content in your blood. A mandatory license suspension is the result of refusing these tests.

Two DUI Convictions within Five Years

Two DUIs within a five year-period result in a mandatory suspension of your driver’s license and your vehicle will be impounded for an additional period of time.

Four DUI Convictions

If you are convicted of four DUIs, regardless of the time lapsed between them, your driver’s license will be permanently revoked.

Other Factors

Keep in mind that other factors may impact your driving privileges. If your blood-alcohol level is higher than .15, you may have to install an ignition interlock that requires you to blow into the device to check for alcohol in your system before you can drive the car. There is an installation fee as well as a monthly fee that you must pay.

If anyone was injured or killed as a result of the DUI as well as any property damage may impact what kinds of penalties you face, including driver’s license suspension.

Fighting a License Suspension in Palm Beach and Broward County

A DUI charge can be confusing and scary. Let the experienced DUI defense team at Weinstein Legal give you clear legal advice and fight aggressively and passionately to give you the best defense possible. We leave no stone unturned in our quest to bring your case to a favorable outcome.

“Matt and his firm made the process so smooth and eased me through the entire case. You literally get more than you retain with them. I could never imagine calling anyone else if I should ever need.” – K.S. – Prior Client

Contact us right away to start putting your life back in order!

Search

x